Eat Something











{October 11, 2008}   Sweet 100

so I’ve gotten 3 (possibly 4) other of these food lists stemming off the omnivore’s 100 and never quite gotten around to doing them… but I saw this one on a Nestie’s page in google reader (oh Amber, I can’t thank you enough for singing it’s praises… it’s one of the best things ever! and perfect for people like me…), I knew I had to finally do this one… I mean, with my sweet tooth how could I not… but I scored surprisingly low…

so the sweet 100: Just like the other 100 lists, you just bold what you’ve eaten. Cross out what you’d never eat.

1. Red Velvet Cake
2. Princess Torte
3. Whoopie Pie
4. Apple Pie either topped or baked with sharp cheddar
5. Beignet
6. Baklava
7. Black and white cookie

8. Seven Layer Bar (also known as the Magic Bar or Hello Dolly bars)
9. Fried Fruit pie (sometimes called hand pies)
10. Kringle

11. Just-fried (still hot) doughnut
12. Scone with clotted cream (but I’ve had both items seperately so does that earn me 1/2 a point? LOL)
13. Betty, Grunt, Slump, Buckle or Pandowdy (wowza, I decided to check the differences and I’ve actually had all 5)
14. Halvah (possibly something really similar at least…)
15. Macarons
16. Banana pudding with nilla wafers
17. Bubble tea (with tapioca “pearls”)
18. Dixie Cup (obviously I’m not old enough for the real deal, but I’ve had the knock offs… could that be 1/2 a point?)
19. Rice Krispie treats
20. Alfajores
21. Blondies
22. Croquembouche
23. Girl Scout cookies
(duh!! have you met me?!?)
24. Moon cake
25. Candy Apple
26. Baked Alaska
27. Brooklyn Egg Cream
28. Nanaimo bar (technically, no but I’ve had something very, very similar)
29. Baba au rhum (no, and further more…why on earth not?)
30. King Cake (one of the many reasons my best friend Mark was so super fab, when we lived in Jackson–and when it was the season–he’d drive down to nola on the weekends to get them and then call me over to help eat…)
31. Sachertorte
32. Pavlova
33. Tres Leches Cake
34. Trifle
35. Shoofly Pie
36. Key Lime Pie (made with real key lime)
37. Panna Cotta
38. New York Cheesecake
39. Napoleon / mille-fueille (not sure)
40. Russian Tea Cake / Mexican Wedding Cake
41. Anzac biscuits
42. Pizzelle
43. Kolache
44. Buckeyes
45. Malasadas (oh yes, and I’m realizing the pre-lenten season is one of the highlights of my food life…)
46. Moon Pie
47. Dutch baby
48. Boston Cream Pie
49. Homemade chocolate chip cookies
50. Pralines (and Ms. Mattie Lou’s are the best I’ve ever tasted but she coyly won’t give me the recipe and’s been holding out for over 1.5 decades…)
51. Gooey butter cake (it seems a crime I know, how this has happened I am not sure…)
52. Rusks
53. Daifuku
54. Green tea cake or cookies
55. Cupcakes from a cupcake shop
56. Crème brûlée
57. Some sort of deep fried fair food (twinkie, candy bar, cupcake) (sadly enough–shockingly enough–no)
58. Yellow cake with chocolate frosting
59. Jelly Roll
60. Pop Tarts
61. Charlotte Russe
62. An “upside down” dessert (Pineapple upside down cake or Tarte Tatin)
63. Hummingbird Cake
64. Jell-O from a mold
65. Black forest cake
66. Mock Apple Pie (Ritz Cracker Pie)
67. Kulfi (nope, but I have had pistachio ice cream *raises eyebrows* so I’m really thinking I should try this…)
68. Linzer torte
69. Churro
70. Stollen (no, and clearly this means I’m not appropriately loved… imagine to be so deprived)
71. Angel Food Cake
72. Mincemeat pie
73. Concha
74. Opera Cake
75. Sfogliatelle / Lobster tail
76. Pain au chocolat
77. A piece of Gingerbread House
78. Cassata
79. Cannoli
80. Rainbow cookies
81. Religieuse
82. Petits fours
83. Chocolate Souffle
84. Bienenstich (Bee Sting Cake)
85. Rugelach
86. Hamenstashen
87. Homemade marshmallows
88. Rigo Janci (still not sure, couldn’t tell from the recipes/descriptions… at least have had something very close if not…)
89. Pie or cake made with candy bar flavors (Snickers pie, Reeses pie, etc)
90. Divinity
91. Coke or Cola cake
92. Gateau Basque
93. S’mores
94. Figgy Pudding
95. Bananas foster or other flaming dessert
96. Joe Froggers (Idk, I’ve eaten tons of hermits and other molasses cookies I knew not how they were made so I reckon it’s possible…)
97. Sables
98. Millionaire’s Shortbread (possibly, as I’ve had something much of the like… but again I didn’t make it so who knows…)
99. Animal crackers
100. Basbousa

My Score: 56 – I knew I’d had, 39 – I didn’t know what they were (7 of which I’d actually had) for a total of 63/100 (plus with 7 maybes, that I couldn’t decide if I’d had or just had something close, I could unwittingly hit 70… or even 71, if you spot me the 2 half points… LOL)
really no nevers, but 3 “I wouldn’t eagerly stand in line for but might try if placed in front of me” ones: 17, 24, and 66… (and 6 “I can barely stand that I haven’t had them know what they are” ones… plus others I’d eagerly try…)



Leave a comment

et cetera