Eat Something











{August 26, 2008}   My Creole Rémoulade

So if you know about rémoulade, you’d probably think first of a mayo based sauce probably with some diced pickle… well if you know me, then you know I eat neither. But what you may not realize is that not all creole rémoulades are even mayo based in the first place so I’m not even being that quirky by dropping it and second of all if you like my food then shut your mouth about my weirdness, whether merely percieved or genuinely validated…

may not look like much.... but try it, you will like it... (besides, you know mayo is useless... try something with flavor!)

may not look like much.... but try it, you will like it... (besides, you know mayo is useless... try something with flavor!)


My Creole Rémoulade
1/4 c olive oil (I used chili olive oil because I had it leftover from not making the rest of the bananas)
1 T ea: creole mustard, tarragon vinegar (or 1 T white vinegar and 1/2 tsp dried tarragon warmed together), ketchup
1/2 T ea: horseradish, worchestershire
1/2-3/4 tsp ea: smoked paprika, hot pepper sauce (I used Seasons in the Sun yellow sauce… firgured it’d go well with the mustard and it’s a little milder to balance back the chili oil)
1/4 tsp ea: salt, pepper, minced fresh garlic
2 T ea: chives (about the green tops of one chive), celery, bell pepper
s/p to taste, adj if needed

Mix everything together and chill for 4+ hrs, then taste for any s/p adjustments before using.

[And you can of course make a bigger batch if you do desire…]



cejaystine says:

The Hubs LOVED this!! He kept raving about it and even put it on his hush puppies… I guess I need to start taking the time to make little extras like this more often… I mean eating a po’ boy with rémoulade is just what you do… I wasn’t thinking much of it…

Really, I was expecting the fish frying to go badly… so this was just my back-up plan to make it palatable… see, I’m realizing I take a lot of things for granted.



Leave a comment

et cetera