Eat Something











{September 3, 2008}   Blueberry Muffins

You may ask yourself why someone about to flee from the hurricane’s mighty winds would slow down the getting on the roads process to make blueberry muffins when breakfast was already made… Well, it’s simple really if you know either me or my grandmother (not to mention the guilt I bore over my children’s behavior this extended visit)…

The story goes that for “quite some time now” my grandma was going to make blueberry muffins for her neighbors JB and Anne as the nurses and caretakers who stay with them never do and JB has a mean sweet tooth… Well, she’d as of yet not and the last of the blueberries from her yard (which by the way were less than adequate in her opinion as well) were squirreled away in her freezer but she was afraid if the power went out she could lose them and then oh my would it be hard to fulfill her promise… But opening the fridge too much to make them with this uncertainty looming could doom everything else as well, plus what if the power went out when she was baking them as her stove is not gas…

So, instead of sitting down to eat my breakfast I stay puttering in the kitchen to make them… with my g-ma’s favorite recipe no less (so of course have to keep stopping to check how to do things) but in the end it works out and she runs them next door and stays for a bit of a visit while we are packing up…

Blueberry Muffins (H. Lewis, Tylertown UMW’s “A Book of Favorite Recipes” 1986)
1.75 c flour
1/3 c sugar
1 tsp bkg soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 egg, beaten + milk to make 1 c
1/3 c oil or melted shortening
frozen blueberries (at least 1 c) **
grated lemon rind and juice (1-2 tsp at most) ***

Mix the dry, add the wet and blend… Fold in the berries and spoon into greased muffin tin (makes only 12, fill them well as they rise just enough)… Bake 20-25 min at 375

** I’d think one would probably want to use around 2 c, and I dusted them in a bit of powdered sugar… (meaning to dust the remaining powdered sugar I’d tossed them with over the tops after baking but g-ma was too eager in taking them over for me to have that chance…
*** I used 2 tsp of lemon juice, no zest

Amber says:

I love blueberry muffins! How sweet of you to make them for her.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
