Eat Something











{August 26, 2008}   Steak Au Poivre

Yep, you guessed it another hubby training wife night… but while I’m sure Mr. Chefypants would wax on about what level of doneness is ideal for this dish or some such. I want all my proteins well-done (except maybe nuts, I guess) so I wouldn’t have cared if he’d tried… but this time he really didn’t try to pitch me a hard and fast rule. I wonder what that means… I know I’m not in the doghouse so it’s not just freezing me out, but maybe he just knew this one was futile. (Recipe details contributed by the man o’ the house)

Oh and you can so do this, he “taught” me in between continually popping upstairs to hermit on the PC and phone for the fantasy draft…and yet it still got done. Despite me drinking and not knowing what I was really doing…so I feel it successfully demystified the whole thing for me (and I haven’t decided if I’m sad about that or not yet) as it’s really not as involved as it seemed.

Steak Au Poivre
2 Well marbled steaks, no more than 1 inch thick. (Strips are best)
2 Tbl peppercorns (you can mix colors) **
2 Tbl olive oil
3 Tbl Butter
3 Tbl red wine (I used a South African Cab that my wifey adores, but you can also use cognac for a more traditional flavor)
Salt to taste

Take the peppercorns and roughly crush then, either with a mortar and pestle or as I did, put them in a plastic bag and pound them with a meat mallet, (fun little stress reducer). Heat 1 Tbl of the olive oil in a saute pan. Salt both sides to taste. Place crushed peppercorns in a dish and coat the steaks on both sides pressing the peppercorns into the meat. Once oil is hot, add the steaks and cook on both sides approximately 4 minutes each for medium rare, longer for more well done (we used a thermometer for the well done one until it reached temp). Once done to your liking, remove steaks from pan and tent to keep warm. Add the wine to the pan and scrape the bits off the bottom of the pan and add the remaining oil and butter. Cook, stirring often until it reduces to a nice sauce. When sauce is done place steaks on a plate and drizzle sauce over top and serve.

** So yes I took pictures but they were sad, so I’m not posting them. And my only complaint was I think you should go ahead crush up more peppercorns, I felt a little chitnzy trying to spread them out… but once you are in the middle of things you and have a hot pan of oil you really don’t want to go back to the crushing so you chintz, it’s just what you do.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
