Eat Something











{August 24, 2008}   French Tomato Pie

This was an auditioned dish for the french food GTG… it didn’t pass because I wasn’t thrilled with the texture… but it’s still worth a try if the pureed tomatoes and cream pie idea isn’t off-putting to you.

I used a store bought roll out crust, and dropped the sugar (as the tomatoes were good and they mentioned not when or why to add them anyway) and drained of most of the bacon grease reserving a bit to cook the onions in… but more or less stuck with the recipe and since it’d be very hard to get ahold of anyway I’m including the original version…enjoy!

Well, when all is said and done you have a pie...

Well, when all is said and done you have a pie...

Tarte a la Tomate (by Mr & Mrs. Duwat from the St Anne Catholic Church Tribute to 9/11/01 cookbook, p 56)
1 c plus 1 T flour
1/3 c water
1/4 c oil
pinch of salt
1/2 lb bacon
pepper to taste
1 T herbes de provence** or italian seasoning
2 onions
.9 lb can crushed tomatoes
14 oz tomato purèe
4 eggs
8 oz sour cream or créme fraiche
3 T sugar
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg

...my one remorse is that this gorgeous red gets lost to the sour cream (and you will have more of a penne a la vodka pinkness throughout).

...my one remorse is that this gorgeous red gets lost to the sour cream (and you will have more of a penne a la vodka pinkness throughout).

In a bowl, mix flour and salt. Add oil and knead. Add and incorporate water slowly until it forms a ball. Place the dough in refridgerator for 2 hours. During this time, chop the onions and brown in a little canola oil in a pot. Add the diced bacon and cook over meat heat for a few minutes. THen add the puree of tomatoes. Add the salt. pepper, ginger, nutmeg, and herbes de provence. Cover and let simmer for 45 minutes. While the tomato mixture is simmering, prepare pie shell. Roll out dough, then place in a greased and floured pie pan. Prick the dough with a fork and place a few dried beans on top before placing it in the oven. This will prevent it from rising and bubbling. Cook in a preheated oven (350) for 10 minutes. Add the sour cream and then the eggs, one at a time. Stir with a wooden spoon. Let the tomato mixture cook on medium heat, uncovered, for 5 minutes. Remove beans from pie shell and fill with tomato filling. Cook in a 350 oven for 30 minutes or until done. Serve warm.

** herbes de provence is essentially a blend of rosemary, marjoram, thyme and summer savory or basil in seats of dominance with a few other herbs and some lavendar thrown in so barring a great affinity for the lavender back note… you can likely make do with things in your pantry, mixing as you will, if you don’t have them on hand…

Maximilien Valente says:

I am from France, and my mother has made tomato pie all of my life. What I am seeing here is not even close to what we make… there is no sour cream, and no puree, the tomatoes are sliced… if you’re interested email me.



Maximilien Valente says:

Hello again, it’s been some time. 🙂 I’ve been revisiting myself and hopefully drawing some lessons. I want to say that given what I’ve learned, it is clear to me now that arrogance is one of my main issues to work on. I could have said what I said in a nicer, humbler, more tactful way. I regret being a jerk, and I want to say that I humbly apologize.



cejaystine says:

Please do not think so much of it… It *never* bothered me, in fact I had to go back and reread the old comment–and email–to figure out why you would think it would. Frankly, I just read it as matter of fact you had a different version you grew up on (which actually, I was quite grateful for since I was still testing recipes for the get together and wasn’t the hugest fan of the texture in this)… and loved you sharing the recipe. I feel awkward having you apologize for something I viewed with gratitude, but please feel fully forgiven for any slight or harshness you feel you’ve paid me for I’ve never been unhappy with you.



Maximilien Valente says:

That is a wonderful thing to hear. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
