Eat Something











{August 23, 2008}   Breaded Chicken (white meat alert)

Ok, it’s not a huge alert for most of you out there as you may prefer white meat, but those who know me know that when not combined with other higher fat options I trend to using more dark meat because as my uncle Sonny would say (albeit in a negative connotation from him): “it tastes more of chicken…” But I was planning to use this light meat for the chicken salad wraps (because salad is supposed to be light and tasteless, right? just kidding… really because I had a big big package we’d bought and I wasn’t planning on eating too high fat for a bit, but needed to use it up nonetheless…) so it was already thawed and seemed enough quantity to stretch for us all if combined with the egg and cheese of the baked mac…

Breaded Chicken (aka. the Not Quite PW Yogurt Chicken)
2.5-3 lbs breasts (I thought they were bnls, skls until I got them out to cut them and realized I had a touch more butchering to do)
8 oz sour cream
4 tsp grainy dijon mustard
1/2 tsp ea: salt, garlic pwd, tarragon
1 tsp ea: blk pepper, lemon zest
breading
1/2 c plain bread crumbs
1 T tarragon
generous but unknown amt of garlic powder
1/2 c shaved parm (broken into smaller pieces)

I cut the breast into split halves for the bigs and little nuggety pieces for the littles (note to lady di: the littles’ nuggets were also breaded in just italian seasoned bread crumbs as I figured the sour cream was plenty adventurous for the picker pair of them). Mix the sour cream, mustard and seasonings in one dish and mix the bread crumbs, cheese and seasonings in another. Rinse the chicken and pat dry; dip in the wet mix and then the dry coating well. Put on a well greased sheet pan and dot with tiny pieces of butter–by tiny I mean I cut a Tbsp of butter in half, then each pat into quarters one direction and quarters again the other direction so you end up with like 32 teensy little cubes to streeeetch it out, LOL–to bake (350 preheated oven and 25 min for split breasts flipping after about 15 min) or pan fry or a do a combo of the two until cooked thru…

PS. This may be a no brainer to some of you, but I had an absent moment: don’t cover this hot with cling film for transport, even if the intended point of destination is a stone’s throw up the street, as the steam will soggy up and uncrisp your lovely crust you so carefully cultivated. *sigh*

[NB my lovely neighbor: I’m usually a huge fan of the pan fry the crust crispy and then cook to temp in the oven method with chicken but this requires a thermometer, which I’m not sure if you have, and isn’t how I did it last night. But such a great way to have the best of both worlds so I’ll bring mine over to show you how to do it that way sometime… You will love it.]

Leave a Reply

et cetera
