Eat Something











{August 17, 2008}   Pecan Crusted Mahi-Mahi
When all was said and done...

When all was said and done...

This is very basic, it’s still decent we just added no major seasonings and it could handle whatever you’d like to do to it. I was more focused on learning a technique (as I feel I have a better palate than the Hubs anyway) and how to than I was perfecting this recipe, so go crazy… In theory, this was for me to learn to make fresh fish, under chef hubby’s training, but it didn’t work out as pleasantly as I’d have liked… The crust didn’t seem to want to stick to all of the fish (maybe I should have lost the marinade and done an egg wash before breading? maybe I should have just spritzed with oil and baked instead of pan frying? *shrugs* who knows…), but maybe I am just being too type a about it…

Pecan Crusted Mahi-Mahi
1.75 lbs mahi-mahi (I think, it was somewhere just under 2 lbs, and $7.50)
1/4 c sour cream (or yogurt)
2 T ea: dijon and milk
1 T honey
1 tsp-ish of hot pepper sauce
breading (didn’t measure, just guessing)
1/3 c cornmeal
1/2 c pecan meal/crushed pecans
2 T parm

Mix all the wet ing, coat both sides of the fish and marinade about 1 hr (covered in the fridge). Mix dry ing and bread the fish. Pan fry in olive oil until both sides are browned, pop in a 200 oven on an ovensafe plate/platter until fish reaches 135-137.

Marinade...Breading

2-step Prep: Marinade...Breading

Leave a Reply

et cetera
