Eat Something











{August 17, 2008}   Berries and ‘Cream’ Oatmeal

So Saturday I got up and made breakfast. Yes that bears rereading, but I truly did and it was a good decent breakfast hour and everything. (No one starved waiting for me to wake up and this wasn’t a late brunch or even 10 am deal… but a real deal 7:30 meal.) The problem is it was such a feat for me to be up, I was not going to make a grand production of the food… but the kids are deeply accustomed to the Hubs making something special so I had to find something middle of the road to work for both sides. Hence was born berries and cream oatmeal, only I felt I’d rather save the richness/heaviness for dessert rather than breakfast so I improvised…

Berries and ‘Cream’ Oatmeal
2.5 c oatmeal
2 c ea: water and milk
2/3-3/4 c ea: dried blueberries and dried raspberries (w/o corn syrup)
1 T sugar
pinch salt

Dump all in a pot, bring to a boil while stirring. Reduce to simmer for 5 min. Shutoff heat and let stand 5 min on hot eye. Serve drizzled with real maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
