Eat Something











{August 12, 2008}   Basic Pancake

Here’s the basic recipe the Hubs added the nuts and chips to this weekend. But also, we use it for a lot of things… I do like using a sour cream/yogurt one as a base for things with berries but otherwise this is pretty much our slow morning go to. Sometimes the hubster thins it with more milk (I think he said up to 2 c) and sometimes I sub Bisquick for the flour because I’m a dork like that and because sometimes I crave it (and yes, if you are thinking what the Hubs often snarks, I do realize you don’t have to add all that to bisquick but it’s good that way and I don’t care!! LOL)

Basic Pancake
2 c unbleached ap flour (we’ve subbed this with ww pastry flour and even barley flour with success if you snub the ap)
2 T sugar **
1 T plus 1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/3 c milk
1 egg, beaten
2 T butter, melted

Mix dry ingredients, and mix milk with egg. Mix milk mix into dry mix stirring slowly. Add melted butter and mix well. Gently stir in whatever add-in you wish. (Then I let the batter set but hubby rarely does–ok almost never–works either way, but I think they are better if you let the batter rest and it’s room temp… plus my daddy did/does it that way so umm that’s a completely valid reason, right?)

Then we use about 1/4 c – 1/3 c of the batter per pancake as long as you cook it on a hot pregreased griddle or skillet they’ll work fine. I guess once it’s hot I like to idle it at MED while I make them. (Then if we are making a big batch or are exceptionally not lazy we’ll throw them in about a 200 degree oven while we finish making them all, but this is really to keep them warm and is really self serving as we have enough eaters for it not to matter.)

** I sometimes add more like 1/4 c, or add a splash of syrup or something, because I don’t like putting syrup on my pancakes… Now waffles on the other hand, I will drench in syrup and must obsessively fill each individual square, go figure.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
