Eat Something











{August 3, 2008}   Crockpot Tequila Chicken Black Bean Chili

Someone was asking at a board I “occasionally frequent” what we like to get at Wild Oats/Whole Foods, and while I did come up with a few things, this recipe is a great example… It just so happens I got (at least) the sausages, the beans, the safflower oil, the onion, and tomatoes–which I guess means it’s so good for me I should have another bowl, right?

Crockpot Tequila Chicken Black Bean Chili
1.5 lbs Tequila Lime Chicken Sausages
1 lb dried black beans, soaked overnight (I soaked with leftover onion root and 4-5 split garlic cloves)
1/2 lg yellow onion, sliced/diced how you like it in chili
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 bell pepper, sliced/diced how you like it in chili
4-6 bay leaves
4 oz tequila (split)
1 qt hot tap water
1 T ancho chili powder (if you are using chili seasoning, that’s code for it’s got salt so add it later with the other stuff)
1 (4 oz) can of fire roasted green chilies
2 (15oz) cans tomatoes
1 tsp cayenne
1 T ea: Watkins Fire Pepper seasoning, smoked paprika, ground cumin
2 T Seasons in the Sun Red Pepper hot sauce (I guess you could use the yellow, but I really didn’t want mustard in here)
3-4 T lime juice and s/p to taste

Preheat the crockpot. Brown the sausages in a little oil/fat. Add sausages and any cooking grease to the bottom of the pan, and deglaze the pan with half the tequila. Cover the sausages with the drained beans** and top with the bay leaves and onions and garlic. Cover with water (about 1 qt–but should be an amount equal to 1/2-2/3 your volume of plumped beans, so long as they are covered–if need be add more to cover and take the extra out later before adding the rest of the ing) and deglazing tequila, lid it and leave on HIGH for 1-1.5hrs. When beans are soft, test one, pull out sausages and cut as you want them–I made spoon friendly slices–add them back with the remaining tequila and other ingredients and simmer on LOW until time to eat.

** soaking onion/garlic discarded, you can scrimp on this if you want to but I like to minimize the Hubs bean gas every way I can and they are one with the soaking juice now so a bye, bye they must go… it’s not wasteful if it is for the greater good! If you don’t have extra on hand you can either not add them to the soak, add extra bay leaves to help counter them, or just embrace that side effect I suppose.

Amber says:

This sounds awesome!



cejaystine says:

hey hon, you might want to add more cumin… I thought it was enough when I first tasted it before the simmer but later, when we were eating, felt it really wasn’t enough so I’d probably do 2 or maybe even 3 times more next time…



Leave a Reply

et cetera
