Eat Something











{July 30, 2008}   Crockpot Deer Roast

This was soooo good, and absolutely couldn’t have been easier. And the Hubs even said “That roast was really good. No seriously, I think it’s one of the best I’ve ever had.” So gloaty, gloat, gloat. I mean, I personally didn’t think it was the best thing I’ve ever tasted or anything but it was pretty good w/o really doing anything–so that was awesome.

Crockpot Deer Roast
3 lb deer roast (mine was 3 lbs, but cut in two pieces) **
1/2 c ea: worchestershire, water
about 2T spicy brown mustard
1 lg onion, sliced

Layer sliced onion in bottom of crockpot and preheat it. Season your meat liberally (I used s/p, garlic powder) and in a hot skillet sear all sides in a bit of olive oil and butter. Lay meat on top of onions and whisk the others together until entirely incorporated and pour over the top. Cover and cook on low pretty much all day. [You of course could add your veggies to the pot if you wish…I often do just not this time.]

** If you are lazily-inclined, and not motivated to remove the silver skin, you can soak the meat in milk for an hour before searing. I did (per the Pops suggestion) and it worked great. And you certainly can just use regular beef but you’ll have to drain off fat so either add the cooking liquid after it’s cooked a couple hrs and you’ve drained it or plan on using one of those nifty gravy seperators–I don’t have one, so I loved using nice lean deer meat and skipping the hassle of gloving up to drain off the grease.

NB: I did not make accordian potatoes to go with it afterall, since the temp got up to 105 here I figured that would have be stupid. So I boiled ’em instead to make mashed (and didn’t mash for the kids)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
